Two at-large members of the Executive Board serve on behalf of the entire ILA/ACRL membership. Their role includes fostering a broad view of the organization and bringing together various viewpoints for the overall benefit of the Chapter. One at-large member is elected by the membership each year to serve a two-year term.

In the past, the at-large members have assumed a range of responsibilities including appointment to Ad Hoc Committees when needed. Traditionally, at-large members participate in a self-determined project to assist the Chapter with current needs.

Schedule of Activities


In the year before the term of office begins, candidates for the position of At-Large Member of the Executive Board are contacted by the Membership Committee to accept a nomination. Letters of acceptance must be written and returned to the Committee along with biographical information for the ballot.


Attend the ILA Annual Meeting and the ILA/ACRL Business Meeting for the introduction of candidates. The election of Chapter officers occurs by email ballot after the Annual Meeting, and the term officially begins January 1. The overlap from the election until assuming the responsibilities of the office allows time for orientation, conversation with the retiring officer, and clarification of the activities that are involved.


Attend the transitional ILA/ACRL Executive Board planning meeting, which provides an opportunity to discuss the coming year’s activities with the Executive Board. Be prepared to contribute appropriately to the plans and responsibilities that develop. Plan to attend scheduled Executive Board meetings when possible and assume responsibility as necessary.

At the end of the second year of a term of office, prepare revisions to these Organization Manual pages and submit them to the President. Transfer archival reports of activities and other papers to the outgoing Secretary/Treasurer and send notes of appreciation to key individuals. The term of office ends on December 31 of the second year.


The Spring Conference traditionally includes a business meeting of the general membership; attend if possible.

At-Large Members:

2025 Jenny Parker, Clarke University
2024 Kristy Raine, Mount Mercy University
2023 Maggie Halterman-Dess, University of Iowa
2022 2020 Cathy Cranston, University of Iowa
2019 Kate Kitchens, University of Dubuque
_?__ (before 2017) Jennifer Sterling, William Penn University
2012 Anne Marie Gruber, University of Dubuque
2011 Mike Wright, University of Iowa
2010 Natalie Hutchinson, Central College
2009 Kate Hess, Kirkwood Community College
2008 Kim Babcock, Wartburg College
2007 Duncan Stewart, University of Iowa
2006 Jane Campanga, Scott Community College
2005 Elizabeth Gardner, Southeastern Community College
2004 Aaron Wings, Kirkwood Community College
2003 Steve Ostrem, University of Iowa
2002 Jean Donham, Cornell College
2001 John Pollitz, St. Ambrose University
1999 Kathy Parsons, Iowa State University
1998 Richard Reitsman, Northwestern College
1997 Mary Anne Knefel, University of Dubuque (elected in 1996 for 2-year term)
1997 Joan Loslo, University of Northern Iowa (elected in 1996 for one-year term)
1996 Pam Kress, Loras College (resigned after 1 year)
1995 Ed Goedeken, Iowa State University
1994 Marianne Ryan, University of Iowa
1993 Georgia Quirk, University of Northern Iowa
1992 Carolynne Lathrop, University of Dubuque
1991 Mary McInroy, University of Iowa
1990 Tom Kessler, University of Northern Iowa
1989 Gail Bonath, Grinnell College
1988 Rebecca Johnson, University of Iowa
1987 Rebecca Johnson, University of Iowa (elected in 1986 for a one-year term)
1987 Liga Briedis, Drake University (elected in 1986 for a two-year term)

Update these instructions for next year’s committee.