Member profile: Mary Anne Knefel

Mary Anne Knefel

Mary Anne Knefel, Library Director at University of Dubuque's Charles C. Myers Library, has been a member of ILA-ACRL for 35 years! She recently received a Legacy Award from the organization for her committed membership. Below in her own words are some reasons why she values her ILA-ACRL membership:


2016 Research Award winners!

Congratulations to 2016 Research Award winner Phil Jones, Julia Bauder, and Kevin Engel of Grinnell College!  They were awarded this honor for their article:

Phil Jones, Julia Bauder, and Kevin Engel of Grinnell College. (2016). Mixed or complementary messages: Making the most of unexpected assessment results. College & Research Libraries, 77(2), 197-211.

Below is a summary of and reflection about their research. Congratulations!


Reflections of Mary Iber Spring Conference Scholarship Winner, Kate Kitchens

Congratulations to Kate Kitchens from University of Dubuque, our 2016 winner of the Mary Iber Spring Conference Scholarship!

Kate Kitchens, University of Dubuque

Here are some reflections about the conference from Kate:

"When I first saw the theme for the ILA/ACRL conference 'Keeping in Step: Libraries and the Institutional Mission' my knee-jerk reaction was, 'but I am a solitary wanderer—forging my own path!' As a product of our individualist culture, I like to consider myself a nomad blazing down a lonely street of dreams. But I don’t think we can tackle grand scale issues, like social inequality, by going it alone. (complete essay)


Member profile: Dottie Persson

At the recent conference, many members received Legacy Awards celebrating their years of membership in ILA-ACRL. Over the coming weeks, we'll be profiling some of our longest-standing members on this blog. These committed members really demonstrate the value of active membership and the benefits our association provides.

First is Dottie Persson, retired from University of Iowa. She joined ILA-ACRL in 1981 so she has seen much in her 35 years as a member!

Dottie is a Life member and especially values having connections and leadership opportunities within the state of Iowa. She writes:

"I thoroughly enjoyed my years in ILA and ILA/ACRL.  Over the years, I received comments from others that my loyalty to ILA was stronger than my loyalty to ALA.  My response was that I met so many wonderful people in ILA, saw the fruits of everyone's work for libraries and librarianship in ILA, and witnessed the gratitude that all volunteers in ILA received."

Dottie Persson with Student

Image source:


ILA/ACRL Research Award

The ILA/ACRL Awards Committee announces a $500 grant to be awarded to an ILA/ACRL member for a presented or published scholarly work.  Please consider submitting your own work or nominating a colleague for this award!

Full submission guidelines and qualifications



Subscribe to RSS - Awards