Fall Conference Scholarship Winner

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Congratulations to this year's winner of the Fall Conference Scholarship: Cynthia Bancroft!

Cindy is a Library Assistant II at the University of Northern Iowa. As part of her application, Cindy submitted this essay describing her interest in the conference and how she believed the scholarship would benefit her professional development:

"I have been a Library Assistant II (support staff) in Cataloging/Metadata at the University of Northern Iowa, Rod Library for 17 years. As of August 1, 2017 I was appointed to one-year term as Diversity Coordinator for 10 hours a week in addition to my Technical Services work. During this year, I will be assisting with setting goals for diversity and inclusion programming in the library, updating the library's diversity and inclusion plan and reaching out to other university departments to form partnerships between the library and campus-wide inclusion efforts. Although I have been working on issues of equality and racism in the community for many years, this is the first time I have been charged with developing goals and programming for our library as part of a dedicated position.

In reading about the various programs being offered at the Fall ILA Conference, I noticed a definite theme of diversity and inclusion throughout the schedule. Even though being Diversity Coordinator is a one-year appointment for me, I hope to be able establish a lasting diversity program at Rod Library and to make our organization more inclusive to both our patrons and to library staff. I believe that attending ILA, would help me greatly in expanding my knowledge. I also hope that by attending, I would become part of a network of people working on diversity and inclusion in Iowa libraries.

I appreciate having the opportunity to apply for a scholarship to attend the conference and thank the committee for your consideration."

Thank you, Cindy, for applying. We hope you enjoyed the conference!

Awards Committee
Sara Scheib (chair)
Alyssa Grigsby
Amy Paulus
Leo Clougherty
Mary Anderson