2019 ILA/ACRL & IPAL Spring Conference

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

ILA/ACRL & IPAL Spring Conference

Thursday, May 23 and Friday, May 24, 2019
Mount Mercy University, Cedar Rapids

Picture of an empty lobby next to a portrait of Emily Drabinski with information about the ILA/ACRL & IPAL Spring Conference also provided below.

Keynote Speaker

Emily Drabinski, Critical Pedagogy Librarian at CUNY, will present “Organizing Difference.” 


Libraries are structuring and ordering machines. As we select, acquire, organize, preserve, and facilitate access to collections, we build systems that both reflect and construct particular ways of understanding the world. Approaching functions critically enables us to interrogate our systems, ask why and how they should and can be different. How does ideology affirm some of our decisions as normal and natural while making others seem impossible? Re-reading the functions of libraries through the lens of the social and political enables us to imagine and begin to create fundamental change in our institutions.


Hotel blocks are at two area hotels, though there are also a number of others available in the same area as these two.

  1. Holiday Inn Express Cedar Rapids- 1230 Collins Rd NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402.  The block includes rooms with 2 queen beds and rooms with king beds.  Rate is $120/night.  Reservations can be made online or by calling 319-294-9407 (Group name is ILA-ACRL.).  Cut off date for the block is April 22, 2019.
  2. Cedar Rapids Residence Inn- 1900 Dodge Road NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402.  Reservations can be made by calling 319-395-0111 (Group is under ILA-ACRL/IPAL Spring Conference).  Cut off date for the block is April 22, 2019.


Mary Hammond Iber was an exceptional librarian, mentor, and friend. A librarian and archivist at Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa, she died unexpectedly on January 2, 2014. Mary was known for her kind, creative, and helpful nature and her vibrant approach to life. She taught as an adjunct instructor at the University of Iowa School of Library and Information Science and was involved with Iowa ACRL leadership, including serving as President in 2010 and chairing the Nominating, Awards, and Newsletter committees.

To honor her commitment to continuous learning and growth, Iowa ACRL makes available the Mary Hammond Iber Spring Conference Scholarship. The scholarship will help fund attendance at the Iowa ACRL Spring Conference, May 23 and May 24 at Mount Mercy University in Cedar Rapids. The scholarship will cover the registration fee and up to $100 in travel, hotel, and meal expenses.

Applicants must fall into at least one of the following 3 categories:

1) Paid members of Iowa ACRL, working full-time in an Iowa academic or research library, and either: attending their first Iowa ACRL Conference, or have worked in an Iowa academic or research library for fewer than three years.

2) Library science students.

3) Support staff working in an Iowa academic or research library.

Student and support staff applicants do not have to be paid members of Iowa ACRL. Previous Iowa ACRL Spring Conference scholarship recipients are NOT eligible.

Please fill out the application form, including an essay of 250 words or less describing how conference attendance will help you achieve your professional goals. Scholarship winners are selected by the Awards Committee on the quality of the essay.

The deadline for applications is April 26, 2019. The winner will be notified in early May.

Call for Proposals

The Spring Conference Planning Committee is accepting proposals for concurrent session and lightning round presentations.  The planning committee will be evaluating the proposals based on interest to the academic and research library community, uniqueness, organization and clarity, and demonstrated knowledge of the subject.

Please submit proposals for 6-minute lightning rounds and 50-minute concurrent sessions online by 11:59 p.m. on March 31, 2019. The committee will notify those who submitted proposals by April 10, 2019.


Please direct any questions to Anna Schmall, Spring Conference Planning Committee chair at [email protected].